Sarah, Plain and Tall

Patricia MacLachlan • Colors!

The Dart is the monthly digital product that features copywork and dictation passages from a specific read aloud novel (you purchase or obtain the novels separately). It's geared toward children ages 8–10 (kids just learning to read and write) and is an indispensable tool for parents who want to mechanics and literature in a natural, literature-bathed context. 

This guide contains the following features:
  • 4 Passages (one per week) for copywork/dictation
  • Notes about punctuation, spelling, vocabulary, and literary devices
  • Highlight each week: copywork and three dictation practices
  • Literary Device: Colors!
  • Writing Activity: Create a picture based on the color-word sentences!
  • Big Juicy Questions
  • Book Club Party Ideas
  • 53 pages
  • Publication Date: February 2021

How does the Dart fit into the Brave Writer complete language arts program?
Learn more on our Getting Started page.

About the book

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.—Amazon

Purchase the Sarah, Plain and Tall novel here (affiliate link).


  




Pin It Fancy